I would like to continue with some thoughts from my last blog.

I ended  my last blog by agreeing the law is divine and whole. I also said the law has no right to tell me  I must be justified by it. I said it has a right to tell me how to live, but it has no right to tell me it delivers me from sin, death, and hell.

With that thought, I concluded that we are justified by faith alone.

In Galatians 1:16, Paul says “for by the works of the law shall no one be justified.” So when we talk about justification, good works or the law, cannot to be discussed concerning justification.

So lets start with the law. We know that the law requires perfect obedience. It condemns all who do not accomplish this perfect obedience. The law cannot justify, it can only condemn according the Galatians 3:10. “Cursed  is everyone that continueth not in all things which are written in the book of the law to do them.”

The purpose of the law is to reveal sin. In other words, the law is to lead us out of the security of our self-trust, into trusting Jesus Christ only.

I wish that every Christian would know the difference between the law and grace, and know it well. The right separation between Law and Gospel is very important to know. Do not drag good works or the law into the truth of justification.

I do not want anyone to think that the Law is no longer working. It is, it continues to work in all who have not put their faith in Christ, but it cannot work in the Christian, because the Christian is dead to the law. Romans 7:4 “Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God.”

So after the law drove me into the arms of Christ,  I yelled out that I have nothing to do with the law anymore. I am dead to the law, and that means that I am free of the law. Yet I say the Law continues to exist and to function, but no longer for me.

I am often accused that by preaching this Gospel of Grace, some if not many misinterpret it. It is true that some may use the Gospel of Grace for malicious reasons, saying “now that I am no longer under the law, I can sin freely. I personally know no one who reasons this way, but if I did, I would say to them, “to reason this way is reckless.”  I will also say, “if some use my preaching to sin more, should I then discontinue preaching the truth of the Gospel of Jesus Christ? My answer to that is no, absolutely no. Paul was presented with this same argument, Romans 3:8, “Let us do evil, that good may come,” and in Romans 6:1, “shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound.” Paul’s answer to that was, “God forbid.” Yet he continued to preach this Gospel. In fact it ultimately cost him his life.

Then there are others who are not malicious, only weak, who take offense when told that the Law and good works are unnecessary for salvation. It is to them that I now write too. Hoping that they will understand why good works do not justify, but why they must be done. Good works do not cause righteousness, but are the fruit of righteousness. When we are made righteous by Christ first, then we are able and willing to do good.

Blessed is the Christian who knows how to use this truth in times of distress. That person can say, “Mr. Law, go ahead and accuse me as much as you like. My conscience, my new life,  lives to Christ under another law, a new and better law, the law of grace.” Stand fast in the liberty wherewith Christ has made you  free.

Paul thereby declares in verse 20 that “it was Christ who loved me, and gave himself for me.” He says that it was Jesus Christ that began the good work in me, it was not me that began the good work. He found me, with a sinful mind, and of no good will, but He had mercy on me. Out of pure kindness, He loved me. He loved me so much that He gave Himself for me, that I should be free from the Law, from sin, and death.

Ask yourself, “did the Law ever love me? Did the Law ever sacrifice itself for me? Did the Law ever die for me? No, it only accused me, frightened me, and drove me crazy. It was someone, that saved me from the Law, sin and death, unto eternal life. That someone is the Son of God, Jesus Christ, to whom be praise and glory forever.

After we realize the truth that becoming a Christian is to be justified by faith in Jesus Christ, and not by the works of the law. We then can start talking about and teaching good works, but they must be taught in their proper turn. What do I mean? I will discuss the law, or good works, only when we are not talking about justification.

So again I conclude that the true Gospel is; we are justified by faith alone, without the deeds of the law.

