I will be drifting a bit today from my usual format. I had a very interesting conversation with someone the other day, and thought it may be important enough to tell some of it here.

After telling someone that I believed in the God of the Bible by faith. I then said that it was also a rational faith.The reply I received was,  Isn’t “rational faith” an oxymoron? Faith, by christian definition is “the substance of things hoped for, and the evidence of things not seen.” So, rationally, how can one have faith in something that by its very definition is irrational and impossible to verify firsthand?

The belief in an invisible person who lives in the sky, but also made the entire earth by talking really loud for 6 days isn’t only laughable, it’s ridiculous. I don’t mean that disrespectfully, but c’mon. For crying out loud, Mt. Rushmore took years to complete, and that was just carving faces into Granite.

Here is my reply.

The Bible also say in 1Peter3:15 – Always be ready to give a defense to anyone who asked for a reason for the hope that is in you.

Christopher Hitchens, who was an Atheist, said that the question of the existence and identity of God is nothing less than the most powerful and urgent question humanity will ever confront and I agree with that.

So I have looked at both sides, material and immaterial ways, concluding that laws of logic, uniformity of nature, and morality are consistent with the God of the Bible. They are not and can not be intellectually consistent with secularism. So when looking at the things that are seen, I learn from them, but do not focus on them. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal – 2 Corinthians 4:18.

I can offer you secular evidence over evidence of why after first believing in Jesus Christ, by faith,  I now rationally see why I have a hope, in the things that our unseen.

After pointing out some of the reasons, which are to long for this post, I went on to say, I could give more examples, but to what purpose? You said – “Okay, I don’t believe this anymore. I never really did.”  I asked, Why have you never believed it before, and you said it is because church members can’t give answers? I will respectfully tell you it may not be because of church members, you do not believe. I seldom got good answers from  church members (religious people), when I first put my faith in Christ, and quite frankly, I still don’t get good answers from many of them.

So I decided to be diligent to present myself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15.

I would like to point out here, that even though I do not get good answers from many church members, I do know that there are many, many, who do have extensive knowledge and wisdom of Jesus Christ, that is  far beyond mine.

I am sure that you already know, that no one can convince you of God, it is only God that makes believing even possible. Only you have the choice of whether to believe or not.

Finally you said, I want to know how people can believe in things that are just so unbelievable, that if they were presented in another way, they’d be ridiculed and laughed out the door.

I actual think the same thing about people who believe the universe is billions of years old, and that we came about by chance. Especially when you said that Mt. Rushmore took years to complete. What you neglected to say, was that Mt.Rushmore had a designer, and a maker. We unquestionable recognize that, but laugh at that thought for a much more complicated design. It was not rain and water that sculptured those faces. It is amazing to me that when people see my glasses, some have said, man what a nice design, who made those? Yet when they look at my eyes behind those glasses they unwittingly think they just happened by chance. I have to laugh, but I don’t, the subject is too important.

I am hoping that some of what I said will cause this person to look at this life with more thought and reasoning, instead of just hoping he or she is right.

Here’s wishing for a great day to all of you.

