Today is Jan. 18, 2012, it is sunny, and close to 80 degrees as I begin writing this blog. I have just returned from riding my motorcycle, which I enjoyed immensely. I had the new stator put in, (not cheap), but the bike is running great. My wife helped me wash the bike two days ago, so the chrome is really shining. I was visiting one of my biker friends the other day, who was working on his classic Harley when I got there. It’s a nice bike, and being old, he has been rebuilding the bike, starting with the entire engine, right up to a new seat, actually same seat, just newly padded and recovered,  and cargo trunk. He rides it, but upgrades it every chance he gets. He has another Harley there also, this one is a 1200 Sportster, that has been modified to look and travel like a larger cruiser. As most of you know, I ride a 1500 Boulevard, fully dressed, and it is sweet on the highway. About three years ago, two of us took a 3000 mile trip, on our bikes, and it is really the way to see the country. My son once rode his motorcycle from Colorado to Florida, alone. I was going up north last year on my bike alone, but only got about 300 miles from home. Thinking something was wrong with my bike, I decided to turn around, as I did not want to breakdown in the middle of nowhere. It turned out to be physological, not mechanical, so I have to give my son a lot of credit, you certainly feel safer when you have someone else riding with you.

Some of the family will be visiting soon, so my wife and I are really excited about seeing them. I really love it when the family comes here for a vacation, there is so much to do, I wish that they could stay for several months at a time. We are hoping to do lots of things while they are here, like the beach, parks, golf, deep-sea fishing, but I don’t think there will be time for that. One week goes by very fast, and as you get older, those weeks seem to go faster and faster.

I was reading this article earlier this morning, and thought it may be of interest to some.

  • Are you a CLL / SLL patient that has not yet received any therapy?
  • Perhaps you do not even have CLL / SLL (yet), but you have the tell-tale signs of MBL we just discussed in the last Updates article?
  • Do you want to get state of the art monitoring for this confusing and still incurable cancer?  And I mean really cutting edge stuff, some of these tests are not yet available from commercial labs.
  • Do you want to get full slate of prognostic testing done, including bone marrow biopsies etc, with zero hassle?
  • Do you want to have access to gold standard therapy options down the road when and if it is time to treat? Up to and including stem cell clinical trials at the National Cancer Institute, if that is what your clinical situation indicates?
  • Do you worry about the ever-increasing co-pay components of your health insurance?
  • Do you even have health insurance?
  • Are you worried about losing your health insurance if you get laid off in this miserable economy?
  • Last but not least, do you still have enough idealism left in you that you want to do what you can to help the CLL patient community?

If some or all of the above bullet points describe your situation, then see this link for more information – http://updates.clltopics.org/544-a-clinical-trial-perfect-for-our-times

I am a very fortunate person with SLL/CLL, I am a Vietnam Veteran, so my costs are fairly low, in comparison to so many others that have to pay for their tests, hospital visits, medicines, chemotherapy and more. I have to admit, when I volunteered to go into the United States Air Force at age 19, I had no idea that in the future, I would have so many experts in the field of cancer, available to me, at a cost that is very affordable.  I know that we were not welcomed home at the time, but wow, now I am very thankful I joined. Of course like so many of us back in the early 60’s, we believed we were blessed for being born in a country like ours, and as I got older, I have realized that belief was correct. I owed my allegiance to this country, and wanted to serve this nation. By doing so, I grew out of my childish ways and became a man, who realized there was more to life than just playing.

That last statement reminds me of a verse in the Bible – When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put aside childish things. I have learned to read the Bible using the principles of interpretation in 2 Corinthians 4:2 Paul speaking: “Instead, we have renounced shameful secret things, not walking in deceit or distorting God’s message, but commending ourselves to every person’s conscience in God’s sight by an open display of the truth.” Also Proverbs 8:8-9. God speaking here:  “All the words of my mouth are righteous; none of them are deceptive or perverse. All of them are clear to the perceptive, and right to those who discover knowledge.”

In other words, we are to read and understand the Bible in a plain or straightforward manner. This is usually what people mean when they say “literal interpretation of the Bible” Reading the Bible “plainly” means understanding that literal history is literal history, metaphors are metaphors, poetry is poetry, etc. The Bible is written in many different literary styles and should be read accordingly. This is why I understand that Genesis records are actual historical events. It was written as a historical narrative.

I had someone tell me, “to interpret the days in Genesis, you need to read 2 Peter 3:8, which indicates the days are each a thousand years.” This is what 2 Peter 3:8-9 says: Dear friends, don’t let this one thing escape you: With the Lord one day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years like one day. The Lord does not delay His promise, as some understand delay, but is patient with you, not wanting any to perish but all to come to repentance.

This passage employs a literary device called a simile (a figure of speech in which two unlike things are explicitly compared.) Here, God compares a day to a thousand years in order to make the point that time doesn’t bind Him, in this case regarding His patience. God is not limited to the time He created—that would be illogical.

Enough for today, I am awaiting my beautiful wife to get home. So to all of you, may this day bring peace, joy and good health.

