This morning I would like to thank all of you who read my blog. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy lives to share a moment with me. I do enjoy writing down my thoughts, joys, fears, hopes, and faith for you to read. It helps me greatly, knowing that others have an interest in what I write.
      My posting today, is directed more to those who are battling the same cancer I am, so it may not be of interest to everyone who may read my blog. However I hope that it will make you aware of what some go through to be able to live a quality life. Many of us go to get our blood drawn every month, and if fortunate, every three months. For me, I really don’t like going to the third floor of the hospital after my blood is drawn. The third floor is where I come face to face with my lymphoma/leukemia cancer. While I am waiting to see my Oncologist, I look in the room I am facing, and see many sitting in chairs, reading, listening to music, or news on their iPhones, all of them have a needle stuck in their arms, receiving chemotherapy. For the fortunate, they will leave feeling okay, but most, will be weak, tired, and unsure of their future. I have not experienced any of that yet, as I have been trying to postpone any chemotherapy that I may have to have. I know it is coming, but I do not welcome that day. I know of it benefits, but am sad that I or anyone else has to have it.
     Many ask, and have asked me, why. Why is there so much sickness, pain, sadness, disease, happening. Why couldn’t God just make everything right. My answer has been, He has, look at Jesus Christ and you will know that. Of course I explain my answer in more detail, but for now, it is suffice to just say Jesus Christ. I have come to learn that believing in Jesus is having faith. I have also found out that evidence (knowledge) points to Jesus, which always increases my faith. Knowledge is true justified belief, and belief must be true in order for it to be considered genuine knowledge. However just because a belief may be true, it does not mean that a person really has knowledge of it. My neighbor said that she just knows it will be beautiful next Sunday. Does she really know this? No, she may believe it, but there is no guarantee that her belief is true. What if it turns out that it is sunny next Sunday, and she says, I knew it would be sunny today. Did she really know, I don’t think so, so even though her belief turned out to be true. She had no knowledge of the future, therefore no good reason for her belief. Unfortunately many today, say they believe in something or someone, without real knowledge of their belief. Even the non-believer believes in not believing, and is also required to exhibit knowledge for that belief. I believe in Jesus Christ because I have a reason for my belief, which is based on genuine knowledge, which in turn increases my faith.
      I am posting information for a new trail that may begin soon. This new trial is for anyone who has exhausted all other treatments for SLL/CLL, as well as those who have not had treatment yet. I have posted only a short description of the trial, however if you are looking for a trial, or if you know someone who is looking to go into a trail, please let them know about this new trial. You can find this at http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT01500733?term=cll+nih+pci-32765&rank=1  It is not yet open for recruitment, but may open this year (2012).
I am not at that point yet, so my doctor says, but I do ask him about the trials I learn about. At some point he may say yes, and refer me into a trail, but not until it is required.
PCI-32765 for Special Cases of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia or Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
      This study is not yet open for participant recruitment.
Verified on October 2011 by National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)
    First Received on December 22, 2011.            Last Updated on December 29, 2011
Sponsor: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
Information provided by: National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)
ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT01500733

Purpose

Background: Chronic lymphocytic leukemia and small lymphocytic lymphoma (CLL/SLL) are types of blood or lymph node cancers that mostly affect the elderly. CLL/SLL both create abnormal white blood cells that hurt the immune system and make it more difficult to fight infections. These cancers are usually diagnosed after age 50; more than half of the people with CLL/SLL are over age 70. Elderly people often do not respond well to standard chemotherapy for CLL/SLL. They may have other health problems that make chemotherapy difficult. In addition, individuals who have a genetic abnormality called 17p deletion also do not respond well to standard treatments for CLL/SLL. Researchers want to test a new cancer treatment drug, PCI-32765, to see if it can treat CLL/SLL in these hard-to-treat groups.

Objectives: To see if PCI-32765 is a safe and effective treatment for CLL/SLL in older people and people with 17p deletion.

Eligibility: Individuals over 65 years of age who have CLL/SLL. Individuals at least 18 years of age who have CLL/SLL and 17p deletion.

Design: Participants will be screened with a medical history, physical exam, and imaging studies. Blood and urine samples will be taken. Optional bone marrow and lymph node biopsies may also be taken.

  • Participants will take PCI-32765 capsules every day for 28 days (one cycle of treatment). Treatment will be monitored with frequent blood tests and clinic visits.
  • PCI-32765 will be given for six cycles of treatment. Those who benefit from the drug will continue to take it as long as there are no side effects and the disease does not progress. Those who do not benefit will stop treatment and have regular followup exams.

There are many trials recruiting, and here is a link to them: http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/results?term=chronic+lymphocytic+leukemia&recr=Open

I hope that this will be of some help to others, please, please, if you know someone who has SLL/CLL let them know about these trials.

