I had an appointment with my Oncologist, for my CLL cancer yesterday, and it went quite well. My blood counts were about where they were six weeks ago. My WBC were 15,500, down from 18,500, which I was hoping for as I had a sinus infection last time. My RBC were about the same, and my platelets dropped again to 60,000, they were 63,000 last time. With that said, my Oncologist thinks it is time to start chemo, because my platelets have dropped over the last six months from 119,000 to it current 60,000. I do not want to start chemo, but he is worried that, with CLL, even though I am doing well right now, things can change rapidly. So he decided to see me in six more weeks, and depending on the results (Platelet count), we would talk about starting chemo after the holidays. I am not happy about that, but as I think through the options, I realize that at some point I may have to do it. It would be nice, if all went well, to go into remission for five or ten years. However, I do not want fear to make the decision for me. I do like my Oncologist, and really believe that he is really good in this field, so I guess I can say that I am trusting what he says, and that will hold a lot of weight, when I am confronted with having to make a decision.

My wife and I are going to an LLS marathon tomorrow, where we will be volunteering. It looks like I will be signing in the marathon runners, and I will be thankful for all of them. Their commitment to raising money for a cure for Lymphoma and Leukemia, always brings tears to my eyes.  It is going to be a sunny day, in the 70’s, which will be good for all the runners.

Sunday, I am planning on riding my motorcycle in a poker run to raise money for the Cancer Society, and lots of the guys I ride with will be there also. It is such a wonderful thing to see all those who could be doing other things, take time out of their busy schedules, to help those with cancer.

It has been a beautiful day here, mid 70’s, low humidity, and not a cloud in the sky. I went for a walk a short while ago, and it was very refreshing. I have been reading about juicing, and think I will buy a juicer. After researching which are the best, I have decided to buy the Green Star, twin gear juicer. It is pricey, but without doubt, makes the best quality juice, and more of it from the vegetable or fruit than others do.

Okay, here is the next chapter in my study:

Since who we are as persons was determined in the physical realm by our family of origin, it is important to note the biblical foundations for family life. In the second chapter of Genesis we are given the story of how God created the family system. From the details of this record we discover how God intended for the family system to function, how the family reflects the full nature of God, and also, how the family became naturally dysfunctional. After God had created Adam, and met all his needs in the Garden of Eden. He states, “It is not good that the man should be alone: I will make a help meet for him.” Notice, it was God himself who said it was not good for man to be alone. Adam did not have a sense of loneliness that might cause him to think of himself as being alone because he was in perfect communion with God. It was God who knew it was not good for man to reflect God’s image and likeness as a solitary individual. It was not good for God’s purpose in revealing himself through the creation of man, that Adam should remain alone. In order to fulfill his purpose in reflecting God’s image Adam had to enter into a family relationship. The need for such a relationship was born out of the fact God is a trinity revealed in family terms.

The Bible recognizes God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit, as being one in essence (family), yet, three distinct persons. While the trinity is certainly a great mystery to our finite minds, the fact that it would take more than one person to accurately reflect the trinity should be apparent. Thus, God said it was not good for man to be alone. He must have a helper that was suitable for him to faithfully reveal the completeness of God, as well as to be fruitful and multiply, which further reveals his nature. Through the creation of the woman, and ultimately children, God was revealing him-self as much in her, as he was in the creation of the man. Although the Bible constantly uses the masculine gender in referring to God, the divine being actually includes attributes that we think of as both masculine and feminine. Just as the terms, God the Father and God the Son, reveal the attributes thought of as masculine. The term, God the Holy Spirit, reveals the attributes thought of as feminine. Notable examples include the Spirit literally “brooding” over the face of the deep, in the original creation in Genesis 1:2. Also consider, those who are born again are born of the Spirit (John 3:1-8). With that said, I am not saying that God is female, as some have tried to say. I am just stating that the family is in three parts, father, mother, son.

Just as the Bible says, God is Spirit, and those who worship Him, must worship Him in spirit and truth.

May everyone out there in cyberspace who have cancer, be joyful, trusting, and living well.

Monday: The Principles of Family Living.

