Got up to a beautiful sunny sky this morning. The temperature as I write this is 89 degrees, with puffy white clouds in a blue sky; it makes me think fall is near. Spent the morning with my wife, before she went to work, and enjoyed every minute of that time. She always reminds me of Proverbs 31:10-12,17-18,20,25,28-29, and 31. She has been a blessing to me from the day I first met her, and will be until I am in this body no more .

Woke up, finding that I had a nose bleed through the night, but must have stopped on its own. Joints ache, but after moving around for a few minutes, everything seems to loosen up and I feel like my old self. Ha, maybe my joints ache, because it is my old self. Went over to the gym this afternoon, and walked a little over a mile on #3 with a #5 grade. I worked up quite a sweat, and think I will try going there each day, instead of just walking around the neighborhood. While there, I worked with a few weights, mostly for my legs, but some for my arms. It was a good workout, and lasted almost and hour and a half.

I would like to continue with my short thoughts of what I have, and Jesus Christ. I left off yesterday with ROMANS 6:23a– FOR THE WAGES OF SIN, OR OUR PAYMENT FOR SIN IS DEATH.

So why do I, and others get cancer that has no cure, and can and does cause death? Why are you going to die? Whether from old age, accidents, diseases, war, you name it, all of us, and those who are considered the very best of us will die. Why? Because of the law, which gave us the knowledge of sin, which Adam and all of us chose by disobeying God.

God didn’t cause me to have cancer, my race and I chose it.

These are the facts. No scare tactics, not trying to get you to live a better life. Why, even when we try, we fail daily, and completely more often than not. Even Paul the Apostle said: in Romans 7:19 For the good that I would I do not:, but the evil which I would not, that I do. So can we conclude that no one does good, we try, but we fail, why, because we are born in sin, born self-centered, self-important, wanting, etc.

There’s got to be a better way? Yes, there is. Jesus in John 11:25 said, I am the resurrection and the life, he that believes in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live. This is good news, true news, needed news, and eternal life-giving news. Paul wrote in 1 Cr. 15:26 that the last enemy that shall be destroyed is death. And then in Romans 6:9 he said that knowing that Christ being raised from the dead, dieth no more; death hath no more dominion over him.

Question: So what happens when someone asks Christ to save them? In Romans 6 we read that, we are buried with Jesus by baptism into death, and just as Christ was raised up from the dead, by the glorious power of the Father, we are raised with Him. So if we are with Him in death, we will be with Him in His resurrection. Knowing this, our old man is crucified with him, we should not serve sin. For he that is dead is freed from sin. Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him, knowing that Christ being raised from the dead, dieth no more; death has no more dominion over him. Christ died unto sin once, and now lives unto God. So realize that you are dead indeed to sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Yea, but I still sin. Sin still persists, because we still have these physical bodies. Our cursed physical bodies have not died yet. (We still have physical death, sickness, disease , and so on) It is our cursed and eternal sinful spirit that Romans 6 is talking about. Genesis 2:7 says that the Lord God formed man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and man became a living soul. We are a new creation in Christ, born again with a new nature, God now sees our new nature, even though we are still stuck in our physical bodies. Notice that I said God now sees our new nature. He only sees Christ in us, His Spirit in us, and our born again spirit in Him, perfect, loved, loving, sinless, that will live forever. So then, it is my old body, my physical body (sins of the flesh) that is going to die. It is the sins of the flesh which is still under the law, that is emnity with God, that will die. In Christ, God only sees us as righteous, as Christ is righteous, so my new man, my new nature, my spirit, in my new body, is living forever, and not just forever, but forever with Christ.

So how do I ask Christ to save me? Peter said, repent and believe. What does it mean to repent? To change direction 180 degrees. In other words, change what you believe, and believe the Gospel. Some become Christians, and to change, we start going to church, try feeding the poor, give to charity, and on and on (by the way, these are good things to do). After a while, we tire of doing these things, our feelings may have been hurt by another Christian, we are young in our Christian walk, and believe things that others tell us, things that is against what God says. Things become more important, and doing good, becomes less and less a part of our lives. Not only that, but we find sin has reared up it ugly face again, and even worst, we are not only sinning, but we are living with a spirit of self-righteousness, judging others, their life styles, their dress, and even their words. Look speak out for your values, for your beliefs, share the Gospel of Jesus Christ, but only because you love others, not because you condemn them. If your repentance is condemning, you have gone back to that which you have been freed from, and that is the law of the knowledge of good and evil (the LAW). Romans 12:2 Be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect will of God.

Repent, is to stop believing that as a believer, you are under the law of Moses, instead believe now that you are under grace. Christ fulfilled that law, and paid the penalty of death for it, so you are no longer condemned by it. Change what you think, not what you do. God will take care of the doing.

Tomorrow: What is the Gospel?

