Wednesday morning, the sun is shinning, no clouds in the sky, and about 80 degrees; what a beautiful day to be alive. My left ankle is sore this morning, but I went out for my walk, and after a mile, the pain left. Sometimes, to get rid of pain, you must exercise that area.

My grandson was getting his six month check-up today, to see how he is doing with his spina bifida. After his fourth surgery, he lost some functions. He called me as I was walking, and told me that all the tests were better than hoped for. I am thankful for his good news, as he is quite a brave little boy, always smiling, happy, and a joy to be around. He has been a gift from God, showing me how, always, to be happy in the midst of problems.

I thought I might put my thoughts about Christ on the blog today, but am not sure how to do it. Do I put just parts of it on the blog, over several days, or put the whole thing on all at one time. Would it be easier to read over several days, or is it short enough for a single reading. I think I will add it to my blog over several days, and if anyone has any comments, please do.

Before starting, I must first thank God for the man who told me about Jesus Christ. If it hadn’t of been for him, today I may be reacting to this terribe disease much differently.

Why Disease, Hatred, Sickness an death?                                                                                                                                                                                                Around the country, we continue to hear talk about the economic recession, and job loss. Around the world we hear about the latest terrorist attacks. Innocent children are dying of starvation, people are dying of cancer, heart disease, and so on. What in the world has gone wrong? How could a good God create a world so full of disease, pain and death? Pain and suffering afflict even the most seemingly innocent people. Animals rip other animals apart in a desperate attempt to survive. How could any rational person think a benevolent being was behind so much death and suffering?

I have cll, that is chronic lymphocyte leukemia. A cancer in the blood. Why did I get cancer? Some have asked, Why do you have cancer? You have been a Christian for 33 years, you have told others about Christ, taught Sunday school, even preached in some churches. I thought God loved you, you are part of His family, why would He do this thing to you?

Well is it God who did this to me, or is it something else that did? The following is what really happened! Lets take a look at what God did do.       Day 1 – Created the heavens and earth. Day 2 – Separated waters from waters. Saw that it was good. Gen.1:4.  Day 3 – Dry land-saw that it was good. Gen.1:10, grass, trees, seeds – saw that it was good. Gen 1:12.   Day 4 – Sun, moon, stars – Saw that it was good.Gen.1:18.   Day 5 – Birds and fish – Saw that it was good. Gen. 1:21.  Day 6 – Animals, man and woman. Saw everything He had made, and behold, it was very good. Gen. 1:31

So what happened? Genesis 3:6 And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat. When Adam ate of the fruit, the human race had the death penalty placed on it. Gen. 2:17                                                                                                                                                                                                                          – But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die, and Romans 5:12 says – Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; so death passed upon all men, for all have sinned.                                                                       We all have Adams DNA, and we all choose to sin.

The Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil — How do we know what is good and what is evil? Where does this knowledge come from? The law came by Moses – John 1:17a. We learn the law from our parents, then school, then peers, then work, then society and church. All religions have some sort of laws, or rules. Governments have rules and laws, Christians, atheist, evolutionist, all have rules and laws. We know it by nature, it is written on our hearts. Romans 1:18-20 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness; Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them. For the invisible things of Him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse.

The Law is Good – Romans 7:7-14 – Is the law of God evil? Of course not! It showed me my sin. When I learned the law, I realized I had broke it. So the law that was to show me life, gave me the death penalty instead. Sin took a good law and used it to make me guilty, so death pursued. But the law didn’t change, it is still holy, right, and good. How can that be, the law that is good, brought my condemnation. It didn’t, sin used what was good to bring condemnation. That’s how terrible sin really is. The law is good then, the trouble is with me, because I have sin as my master. So Romans 3:20 says by the deeds of the law, there shall no flesh be justified in His sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin. So what is the conclusion for sin?

ROMANS 6:23a – FOR THE WAGES OF SIN, OR OUR PAYMENT FOR SIN IS DEATH

Tomorrow – There’s got to be a better way?   Yes, there is.

